Affair with Hair

Anyone that knows me at all well knows that The Lex is obsessed with hair.  Any slim pretty faced AV with long dark, flowing hair is going to make me look and if that lovely happens to be a pretty dark haired boi , I am going to look again, turn around,  follow and possibly even break out the camera. I  freely admit it, I have a long  hair fetish. When Genie wears that waist length black hair of his and the tiger stripe tattoos I am just ready to …umm…….. err… well… I digress. Suffice to say I _really_ have a thing about hair.

When it comes to my own hair, it has to be red. Always red. If I have a choice, it should also be long. The search is always ongoing for the perfect long red hair. The Holy Grail of hairs, the one I will buy and wear forever and never need to  change it again. Every time I think I find it  though, something better comes along. I was here on Second Life BEFORE flexi prims and let me tell you, when flexi hair came out I spent me some serious lindens. Then I took up modeling and had to get a varied selection of short red hair. I started to like how the short hair looked on me.  More Lindens. After three years my collection of red hair is epic and yet there is always room for more.

This is exactly why I fully intended to stay far, far away from the 2009 Hair Fair. I have many many hairs already and only a few Linden to my name. I knew if  went to the fair it was going to just be More hair and No linden by the time I left.  Then I got talking with Nic about the Hair Fair going on right now.  Nic is a stunningly lovely fellow with quite a hair collection of his own and every bit of it is long, black and lush and  _My Gods_  he is just way to easy on the eyes!  I remember  the first time I saw him I just about …… err…..ummm…. I am starting to digress again. Did I mention I have a thing about men with long dark hair?

Anyway, talking with Nic made me realize that going to the Hair Fair and writing about my time there would be the perfect opening post for this blog. Hair has always been my main thing after all so what better place to start?  So after all the serious plans I had made to NOT go, suddenly and impulsively I was eager to be there!  I could hardly wait!  Hair! Glorious Hair!  I got dressed, found the land mark for the Fair and Teleported myself  in!!  Or….not.

The Sim is full.

30 minutes later I was _still_ hitting the teleport button and still getting the “Sim is Full. Try again soon.” message. A great deal of the excitement and enthusiasm had waned now and the stubborn red head temperament had taken over. I was going to get there. I was going to get there dang it. Push the button. Push the Button. Push. Push. Button. Button. WHOOSH

I made it in!

Snapshot_006

The entire place is made out of candy. Chocolate, sugar and cake  was everywhere I looked.  My arrival  landed  me on a chocolate chip cookie the size of a football field.  Sweets just so happen to be another of my grand obsessions.  My mouth was watering and I had not even seen any long haired boys yet. I  knew right then, this first blog post was going to be the length of a novel.

Snapshot_011

So the hair fair stare began in ernest but as I went from one candy themed store to the next, I found that I was distracted from the vast sleection inside the shops. The colorful and edible shops were outshining the items they sold. They were so charming, like something right out of a fairy tale and they simply cried out to be  photographed.

Everyone gripes about lag so I will spare you the grim details, things like when I  got stuck  jittering between sims because the one I was going to was full and the one I was leaving filled up.  The lag at the hair fair was beyond impressive but i find that  if you keep  a open mind  Lag can be entertaining and perhaps a bit disturbing. For proof I offer  you this photo of  the “Lag Ghost Goiter Girl” and her boyfriend “Laughing  Lag  Ghost” (I also find it funny that laughing boy’s shoulders are almost as wide as the girl’s entire torso, but that is a whole post for a different day)

Snapshot_010

Still in the end I got tired of fighting the beast of lag and took myself home after I had seen just over half of the fair. Its huge and its laggy. If you go be ready to make a day of it. You need not pack a lunch, you can just nibble on the shops. Once I got home however,  I had the surprise of the week, I had not bought a single thing!!!  I had grabbed dozens of demos to try on, but for the most part my wallet was not at all dented and I had a delightful time.

Here are some of the  hairy highlights of the trip.

hair1hair5hair4hair6hair2

hair3

1, Hair Influence: “Forever and Always” in bitter chocolate

2, Skyshop: “Zen Akesha”

3, Miau Haus: “Vasean Hair” in Latte

4, Katey’s: “Zach”

5, Sweet Hair by Sweet Face: “VankaV2”

6, Audacity: “Rodik” in slate

4 Responses to “Affair with Hair”

  1. Nicholi Says:

    I see no words… HURREH UPPP! x-D

    • Lexi Vargas Says:

      I put up words and have not heard from you here since. What gives?

      • MY BAAD for being too blond brained ( as Nix always says lol) and not noticing the links at the top, I didn’t realize there was other pages. GO ME

  2. slerybygenie Says:

    Lex, are you feeling OK darlin? You went to the Hair Fair of the century and you didn’t buy anything? I think you need some serious pampering on various sets of animatory purpose. Here’s my verdict on the demos.

    1. I want that one! Hand it over!
    2. Thought I recognised that designer… lol, I’m getting as bad as you
    3. ‘The return of the thin white duke throwing darts in lovers’ eyes’ Best one and I think that Mias copied the front of the ‘Low’ album
    4. Distinguished or should that be extinguished?!
    5. Come here because I really want to examine every primmy strand in minute detail
    6. I turned you grey before your time, want to see this one in red.
    ❤ G

Leave a Reply

