Am I SL’s Next Fashion Designer?

I have started something that I am terribly excited about!  Well..two somethings really but I am not talking about my hand fasting to Genie at the moment.

What I am talking about is the SL’s Next Fashion Designer Contest.

SL’s  Next Fashion Designer is a Second Life’s adaptation of Project Runway. This  fun event aims to find “the next big Second life’s fashion designer,” and is organized by the Models with Curves Fashion District. The show is hosted by Miss International “09” Glitter Bollissima and has weekly judges that compose of  well known fashion designers, top models, and some major names in the fashion industry serving as their mentor. Jennifer Warden, the CEO of Model with Curves will serve as the resident judge.  The winner will receive 35,000L in cash, 1st runner up – 10,000L and 3rd Runner Up gets 5,000L. The winner also gets one month free rental in one of the pretty little shops at the MWC Fashion District.

When this contest came into my in box, I could not say No.  I was not going to pass this up. Even though it was due to start right when I was 2 weeks away from getting married  I HAD to see if I could get chosen as one of the ten designers that would compete. I sent in my entry, took photos of my latest outfit on the boring white background as requested and waited with my fingers crossed.

Brocadetigerfront

(Pheasant  Brocade by Brocade Tiger)

I GOT IN!!!

Right away, along with  my note of acceptance into the competition came the first challenge.

STYLE:

The task would be to design a Vaudeville style or 1930s Burlesque outfit to be worn by Jenn & Christina  of the Sugar Babes Musical group and also a suit design for the male band member. For the girls they wanted a black /red tight fitting corset hopefully with feathers & fine detail to the corset paired with a flowing skirt of  calf or knee length. Black was the main color to use.   For the men, an old fashion mobster style suit.

I had to make 2 outfits??!  Holy Crud. I have never made two outfits in one week before in my life and to make it even more insane I had to make a hunt gift I been procrastinating over. Plus I had already been laying out pirms for the outfits for Genie and my wedding.  Even with all that I was so excited about the contest  I dove right in and started creating. Here is what I came up with.

For the girls…. contest1g

(Sugar Babe Dress, by Brocade Tiger)

And for the guys.. contest1b(Sugar Dude Suit, by (you guessed it) Brocade Tiger.)

As a nice touch, the models of the MWC agency put on a fashion show for we designers so we could pick the male and female models who would work with us thru the whole contest.  When you are presented with 30 or more beautiful people and only get to pick two…thats tough. I ended up with the sweet and charming Miss Precious Mannonen and the patient and handsome Andreas Barrowstone. They have both been wonderfully tolerant of my eccentric self so far and they did a stunning  job when it came time to show my work on the runway. It was the first time any  of my designs had been walked on a runway and it was SO COOL! It really did feel strange to be the one sitting on the sidelines watching others walk the catwalk tho.

56

(My wonderful models on the runway during the  first show.)

If you want to see the rest of the outfits from round one...CLICK THIS!)

The good news is I made it thru to round two!! I was not the designer of the first place outfit of the night but I was not the one who was eliminated either. On to next week and the theme is Design a Outfit for someone Famous and use thir own style. Maybe I will do Elton John…just to be silly.

Wish me Luck!

2 Responses to “Am I SL’s Next Fashion Designer?”

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …Excellent site, keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read….

  2. I usually dont post in Blogs but your blog forced me to, amazing work.. Kind regards from france

Leave a Reply

