There is a Last Time for Everything…

Well, those of you that know me have already heard  that my beloved Partner, Genie Sorbet died in the real world this weekend.

He had been at the end stages of what he called “The Dread Illness” and for the past month he and I both knew whenever he logged out of Second life, it might well be the last time we saw each other.  We talked about it once and got our shared tears and sorrow out of the way..then vowed to not talk about it again. Instead when he logged in, I would drop everything and go be with him to have fun. Our times were pretty rare because he was often tired, but we had a grand time whenever he could. We made love, we walked thou beautiful sims, we scuba dived, I even got my British beloved  to don a cowboy hat and go line dancing  with me.  And snuggles, there was so many times just filled with cuddles and kisses and talks.  I took photos of everything, seemed I was always snapping pictures of him, of us. . …I knew I was going to lose him someday and I so wanted to capture every memory.

Sadly, this week the dreaded someday finally came. Last Weds, Dec 9th, he came on and spent a couple good hours with me. We went out dancing and listened to a live comedic singer who made him laugh till his sides ached.  Afterwords he was tired but wanted a bit of time just to be held before he called it a night.  We found a place on the beach and he settled on my lap, head resting on my shoulder. Then we talked awhile,  just gentle peaceful talk as lovers will do. When he logged out that night, he was still curled into my arms. As always….I took a photo. This turned out to be  his last moments on Second life….and he spent them in my arms.

Somehow the romantic, sappiness of that poetic ending would have made him smile. He always did love when we were overly sappy and silly.

We exchanged an email and he left some comments on my fliker pages after that night, but we never talked in real time again. On Sunday night, Dec 13th, Andreas, the person and soul behind the Avatar called Genie went peacefully to sleep and never woke again.

Second Life may be “just a game” but what a game it is. It allowed a dieing man and a lonely man to find  each other and give to each other what they could not have in real life. I was so very lucky to have and hold Genie in this virtual world and though I will not speak to him again in this lifetime, I shall be forever changed by having known his gentle, peaceful soul. He has made me a better person.

Sweet Sleep m’love.

Ever Yours.

Lex ❤

2 Responses to “There is a Last Time for Everything…”

  1. No words can ever really express what I want to say to you, but you know where I am ~hugs you tight~

  2. We were so lucky to have known him. Lexi, you gave him such comfort and happiness. You must have so many happy memories to treasure. You know we are here for you.

    Love you both
    Flip

Leave a Reply

